Prevention for LongevityInstitutionIntelligenceStandardWorkAboutDiscuss an opportunity

Evidence Explorer · EV-024

RPM oversight

CMS highlighted OIG's finding that, in 2022 Medicare claims and Medicare Advantage encounter data, about 43% of enrollees receiving RPM lacked a claim or encounter record for at least one of three components.

Primary/authoritativeCurrentFederal oversight / compliance2026-05-14

What this evidence supports

CMS highlighted OIG's finding that, in 2022 Medicare claims and Medicare Advantage encounter data, about 43% of enrollees receiving RPM lacked a claim or encounter record for at least one of three components.

What it does not establish

The finding concerns 2022 claims and encounter data, not a current rate. CMS did not require providers to bill all three components, so no claim or encounter record does not prove a component was not furnished; the finding also does not establish inappropriate care or ineffectiveness.

Answer-ready summary

CMS highlighted a 2022 claims/encounter-data finding: about 43% of monitored enrollees lacked a record for at least one RPM component. This is not a current rate or proof that an unbilled component was not furnished.

Record details

Decision priority
Watch
Current status
Current oversight · historical 2022 claims/encounter-data finding
Evidence tracks
Implementation/adoption · Equity/access
Source authority
Primary/authoritative
Source organization
CMS + HHS OIG
Evidence design
Federal oversight / compliance
Applicability
Applicable to decisions about the stated program, policy, standard, or development context; not evidence of clinical benefit beyond the cited scope.
Confidence for the stated claim
High
Freshness
Current
Record date
2026-05-14
Source updated
2026-05-14
Last verified
2026-09-03
Review due
2026-10-03 or sooner if the cited source changes.
Version
1.1
Revision state
Version 1.1 limits the 43% finding to 2022 claims and encounter data, adds the billing-ascertainment boundary and OIG sources, and records the September 3, 2026 re-verification.

Evidence record fields

Claim supported
CMS highlighted OIG's finding that, in 2022 Medicare claims and Medicare Advantage encounter data, about 43% of enrollees receiving RPM lacked a claim or encounter record for at least one of three components.
Source type and design
Federal oversight / compliance
Population and setting
Not a participant-level clinical-study population in this source type. The program, policy, regulatory, standards, or research context described by the cited source.
Intervention/exposure and comparator
Not evaluated as a comparative intervention or exposure in the cited administrative or program source. No comparator is reported for this source-bounded claim.
Outcome or endpoint
The program, policy, regulatory, standards, or development state stated in the claim supported; no clinical outcome is inferred.
Follow-up duration
No clinical follow-up duration is reported for this source-bounded claim.
Effect estimate and uncertainty
No clinical effect estimate is reported. No statistical uncertainty estimate is reported; uncertainty is bounded through the source scope and stated limitations.
Harms/adverse events
No harms or adverse-event analysis is reported for this source-bounded administrative or program claim.
Missing data and attrition
Not reported; this record does not analyze participant-level data. Not applicable or not reported; no longitudinal participant cohort is analyzed.
Bias/limitations
The finding concerns 2022 claims and encounter data, not a current rate. CMS did not require providers to bill all three components, so no claim or encounter record does not prove a component was not furnished; the finding also does not establish inappropriate care or ineffectiveness.
Applicability/generalizability
Applicable to decisions about the stated program, policy, standard, or development context; not evidence of clinical benefit beyond the cited scope.
Funding/conflicts
Funding or sponsorship is recorded only where the cited source and claim state it; otherwise it is not assessed in this record. No conflict-of-interest assessment is reported for this administrative or program-source record.
Replication or corroboration
The administrative or program claim is anchored to the cited authoritative source; independent clinical replication is not implied.
Decision use
Use as source-bounded context for Health-system leaders, Payers/employers, Clinicians, Policymakers, Innovators; do not use as stand-alone evidence of safety, efficacy, coverage, endorsement, or scaled adoption.
Last reviewed / review due
Last reviewed 2026-09-03; review due 2026-10-03 or sooner if the cited source changes.

For this decision

Health-system leaders · Payers/employers · Clinicians · Policymakers · Innovators

Primary sources

Related intelligence