What this evidence supports
CMS publishes a voluntary Medicare App Library participation and launch pathway for patient-facing apps, including three initial use cases and requirements concerning identity, CMS Aligned Network/FHIR connectivity, third-party review, CMS validation, and listing.
What it does not establish
Answer-ready summary
CMS publishes a voluntary, multi-step pathway for patient-facing apps to be evaluated and, after approval, listed in the Medicare App Library; listing is not proof of effectiveness, endorsement, coverage, or payment.
Record details
- Decision priority
- Watch
- Current status
- Current
- Evidence tracks
- Technologies/care models · Implementation/adoption
- Source authority
- Primary/authoritative
- Source organization
- CMS
- Evidence design
- Federal digital-health distribution program
- Applicability
- Applicable to decisions about the stated program, policy, standard, or development context; not evidence of clinical benefit beyond the cited scope.
- Confidence for the stated claim
- High
- Freshness
- Current
- Record date
- 2026-07-29
- Source updated
- 2026-08-24
- Last verified
- 2026-09-03
- Review due
- 2026-09-10 or before consequential use, whichever comes first.
- Version
- 1.3
- Revision state
- Version 1.3 records the CMS requirements-page modified date of 2026-08-24; the substantive claim is unchanged.
Evidence record fields
- Claim supported
- CMS publishes a voluntary Medicare App Library participation and launch pathway for patient-facing apps, including three initial use cases and requirements concerning identity, CMS Aligned Network/FHIR connectivity, third-party review, CMS validation, and listing.
- Source type and design
- Federal digital-health distribution program
- Population and setting
- Not a participant-level clinical-study population in this source type. The program, policy, regulatory, standards, or research context described by the cited source.
- Intervention/exposure and comparator
- Not evaluated as a comparative intervention or exposure in the cited administrative or program source. No comparator is reported for this source-bounded claim.
- Outcome or endpoint
- The program, policy, regulatory, standards, or development state stated in the claim supported; no clinical outcome is inferred.
- Follow-up duration
- No clinical follow-up duration is reported for this source-bounded claim.
- Effect estimate and uncertainty
- No clinical effect estimate is reported. No statistical uncertainty estimate is reported; uncertainty is bounded through the source scope and stated limitations.
- Harms/adverse events
- No harms or adverse-event analysis is reported for this source-bounded administrative or program claim.
- Missing data and attrition
- Not reported; this record does not analyze participant-level data. Not applicable or not reported; no longitudinal participant cohort is analyzed.
- Bias/limitations
- These are published participation and listing requirements, not proof that a particular app is clinically effective, CMS-endorsed, covered by Medicare, accepted into the library, or eligible for ACCESS payment. Requirements and listings can change. The pages checked also do not publish every product-specific evidence, usability, accessibility, equity, or technical threshold.
- Applicability/generalizability
- Applicable to decisions about the stated program, policy, standard, or development context; not evidence of clinical benefit beyond the cited scope.
- Funding/conflicts
- Funding or sponsorship is recorded only where the cited source and claim state it; otherwise it is not assessed in this record. No conflict-of-interest assessment is reported for this administrative or program-source record.
- Replication or corroboration
- The administrative or program claim is anchored to the cited authoritative source; independent clinical replication is not implied.
- Decision use
- Use as source-bounded context for Health-system leaders, Payers/employers, Clinicians, Policymakers, Innovators; do not use as stand-alone evidence of safety, efficacy, coverage, endorsement, or scaled adoption.
- Last reviewed / review due
- Last reviewed 2026-09-03; review due 2026-09-10 or before consequential use, whichever comes first.
For this decision
Health-system leaders · Payers/employers · Clinicians · Policymakers · Innovators