Prevention for LongevityInstitutionIntelligenceStandardWorkAboutDiscuss an opportunity

Evidence Explorer · EV-015

Real-time clinical trials

FDA announced two initiated real-time clinical-trial proofs of concept that report endpoints and data signals to FDA in real time. Separately, FDA requested information on a proposed AI-enabled early-phase clinical-trial pilot.

Primary/authoritativeChangedFederal regulatory innovation initiative2026-04-28

What this evidence supports

FDA announced two initiated real-time clinical-trial proofs of concept that report endpoints and data signals to FDA in real time. Separately, FDA requested information on a proposed AI-enabled early-phase clinical-trial pilot.

What it does not establish

The initiated reporting proofs do not establish comparative benefit or suitability for every trial. The separate AI-enabled pilot RFI closed June 29, 2026; the cited source does not establish a later selection or broader-pilot launch outcome.

Answer-ready summary

FDA initiated two real-time endpoint/data-signal reporting proofs of concept; a separate AI-enabled early-phase-trial pilot remained a proposal whose RFI closed June 29, 2026, and whose later selection or launch outcome is not established by the cited source.

Record details

Decision priority
Watch
Current status
Two proofs initiated · AI-enabled pilot RFI closed 2026-06-29 · broader pilot selection/launch outcome not established by cited source
Evidence tracks
Technologies/care models · Implementation/adoption
Source authority
Primary/authoritative
Source organization
FDA
Evidence design
Federal regulatory innovation initiative
Applicability
Applicable to decisions about the stated program, policy, standard, or development context; not evidence of clinical benefit beyond the cited scope.
Confidence for the stated claim
High
Freshness
Changed
Record date
2026-04-28
Source updated
2026-05-27
Last verified
2026-09-03
Review due
2026-10-03 or sooner if the cited source changes.
Version
1.1
Revision state
Version 1.1 separates two initiated real-time reporting proofs from the distinct proposed AI-enabled pilot, records the RFI closure and unestablished later outcome, adds the RFI source, and records the September 3, 2026 re-verification.

Evidence record fields

Claim supported
FDA announced two initiated real-time clinical-trial proofs of concept that report endpoints and data signals to FDA in real time. Separately, FDA requested information on a proposed AI-enabled early-phase clinical-trial pilot.
Source type and design
Federal regulatory innovation initiative
Population and setting
Not a participant-level clinical-study population in this source type. The program, policy, regulatory, standards, or research context described by the cited source.
Intervention/exposure and comparator
Not evaluated as a comparative intervention or exposure in the cited administrative or program source. No comparator is reported for this source-bounded claim.
Outcome or endpoint
The program, policy, regulatory, standards, or development state stated in the claim supported; no clinical outcome is inferred.
Follow-up duration
No clinical follow-up duration is reported for this source-bounded claim.
Effect estimate and uncertainty
No clinical effect estimate is reported. No statistical uncertainty estimate is reported; uncertainty is bounded through the source scope and stated limitations.
Harms/adverse events
No harms or adverse-event analysis is reported for this source-bounded administrative or program claim.
Missing data and attrition
Not reported; this record does not analyze participant-level data. Not applicable or not reported; no longitudinal participant cohort is analyzed.
Bias/limitations
The initiated reporting proofs do not establish comparative benefit or suitability for every trial. The separate AI-enabled pilot RFI closed June 29, 2026; the cited source does not establish a later selection or broader-pilot launch outcome.
Applicability/generalizability
Applicable to decisions about the stated program, policy, standard, or development context; not evidence of clinical benefit beyond the cited scope.
Funding/conflicts
Funding or sponsorship is recorded only where the cited source and claim state it; otherwise it is not assessed in this record. No conflict-of-interest assessment is reported for this administrative or program-source record.
Replication or corroboration
The administrative or program claim is anchored to the cited authoritative source; independent clinical replication is not implied.
Decision use
Use as source-bounded context for Researchers, Innovators, Funders/investors, Policymakers, Clinicians; do not use as stand-alone evidence of safety, efficacy, coverage, endorsement, or scaled adoption.
Last reviewed / review due
Last reviewed 2026-09-03; review due 2026-10-03 or sooner if the cited source changes.

For this decision

Researchers · Innovators · Funders/investors · Policymakers · Clinicians

Primary sources

Related intelligence