What this evidence supports
FDA announced a funding opportunity that was open from July 20 through August 20, 2026, for projects exploring digital health technologies in drug development, including actigraphy, photography, and contactless sensors. The application window is closed. P4L is now watching for awardees, selected modalities, endpoint methods, validation work, and resulting guidance or precedents.
What it does not establish
Answer-ready summary
FDA announced a funding opportunity that was open from July 20 through August 20, 2026, for projects exploring digital health technologies in drug development, including actigraphy, photography, and contactless sensors. The application window is closed. P4L is now watching for awardees, selected modalities, endpoint methods, validation work, and resulting guidance or precedents.
Record details
- Decision priority
- Historical
- Current status
- Historical
- Evidence tracks
- Measures/endpoints · Science/market
- Source authority
- Primary/authoritative
- Source organization
- FDA
- Evidence design
- Federal funding opportunity — application window closed
- Applicability
- Applicable to decisions about the stated program, policy, standard, or development context; not evidence of clinical benefit beyond the cited scope.
- Confidence for the stated claim
- High
- Freshness
- Historical
- Record date
- 2026-07-23
- Source updated
- 2026-08-20
- Last verified
- 2026-09-03
- Review due
- On material source change; preserve as a dated record.
- Version
- 1.0
Evidence record fields
- Claim supported
- FDA announced a funding opportunity that was open from July 20 through August 20, 2026, for projects exploring digital health technologies in drug development, including actigraphy, photography, and contactless sensors. The application window is closed. P4L is now watching for awardees, selected modalities, endpoint methods, validation work, and resulting guidance or precedents.
- Source type and design
- Federal funding opportunity — application window closed
- Population and setting
- Not a participant-level clinical-study population in this source type. The program, policy, regulatory, standards, or research context described by the cited source.
- Intervention/exposure and comparator
- Not evaluated as a comparative intervention or exposure in the cited administrative or program source. No comparator is reported for this source-bounded claim.
- Outcome or endpoint
- The program, policy, regulatory, standards, or development state stated in the claim supported; no clinical outcome is inferred.
- Follow-up duration
- No clinical follow-up duration is reported for this source-bounded claim.
- Effect estimate and uncertainty
- No clinical effect estimate is reported. No statistical uncertainty estimate is reported; uncertainty is bounded through the source scope and stated limitations.
- Harms/adverse events
- No harms or adverse-event analysis is reported for this source-bounded administrative or program claim.
- Missing data and attrition
- Not reported; this record does not analyze participant-level data. Not applicable or not reported; no longitudinal participant cohort is analyzed.
- Bias/limitations
- A historical funding opportunity does not establish an award, a validated digital measure, regulatory endpoint acceptance, guidance, or clinical benefit.
- Applicability/generalizability
- Applicable to decisions about the stated program, policy, standard, or development context; not evidence of clinical benefit beyond the cited scope.
- Funding/conflicts
- Funding or sponsorship is recorded only where the cited source and claim state it; otherwise it is not assessed in this record. No conflict-of-interest assessment is reported for this administrative or program-source record.
- Replication or corroboration
- The administrative or program claim is anchored to the cited authoritative source; independent clinical replication is not implied.
- Decision use
- Use as source-bounded context for Researchers, Innovators, Funders/investors, Policymakers, Clinicians; do not use as stand-alone evidence of safety, efficacy, coverage, endorsement, or scaled adoption.
- Last reviewed / review due
- Last reviewed 2026-09-03; review due On material source change; preserve as a dated record.
For this decision
Researchers · Innovators · Funders/investors · Policymakers · Clinicians