Prevention for LongevityInstitutionIntelligenceStandardWorkAboutDiscuss an opportunity

Evidence Explorer · EV-021

Medicare telehealth

CMS states that starting in CY 2026 it will add services to the Medicare telehealth services list only on a permanent basis.

Primary/authoritativeCurrentFederal payment policy2026-01-22

What this evidence supports

CMS states that starting in CY 2026 it will add services to the Medicare telehealth services list only on a permanent basis.

What it does not establish

Permanent describes the list-addition category after CMS removed the provisional/permanent distinction. It does not make every telehealth flexibility permanent, guarantee payment in every setting, or establish coverage for every use case.

Answer-ready summary

CMS says new additions to the Medicare telehealth services list are permanent beginning in CY 2026.

Record details

Decision priority
Watch
Current status
Current final CY 2026 list-addition policy
Evidence tracks
Payment/economics · Equity/access · Implementation/adoption
Source authority
Primary/authoritative
Source organization
CMS
Evidence design
Federal payment policy
Applicability
Applicable to decisions about the stated program, policy, standard, or development context; not evidence of clinical benefit beyond the cited scope.
Confidence for the stated claim
High
Freshness
Current
Record date
2026-01-22
Source updated
2026-01-22
Last verified
2026-09-03
Review due
2026-10-03 or sooner if the cited source changes.
Version
1.1
Revision state
Version 1.1 records the September 3, 2026 re-verification, adds current final-policy and list sources, and clarifies the scope of permanent list additions without implying universal telehealth permanence, coverage, or payment.

Evidence record fields

Claim supported
CMS states that starting in CY 2026 it will add services to the Medicare telehealth services list only on a permanent basis.
Source type and design
Federal payment policy
Population and setting
Not a participant-level clinical-study population in this source type. The program, policy, regulatory, standards, or research context described by the cited source.
Intervention/exposure and comparator
Not evaluated as a comparative intervention or exposure in the cited administrative or program source. No comparator is reported for this source-bounded claim.
Outcome or endpoint
The program, policy, regulatory, standards, or development state stated in the claim supported; no clinical outcome is inferred.
Follow-up duration
No clinical follow-up duration is reported for this source-bounded claim.
Effect estimate and uncertainty
No clinical effect estimate is reported. No statistical uncertainty estimate is reported; uncertainty is bounded through the source scope and stated limitations.
Harms/adverse events
No harms or adverse-event analysis is reported for this source-bounded administrative or program claim.
Missing data and attrition
Not reported; this record does not analyze participant-level data. Not applicable or not reported; no longitudinal participant cohort is analyzed.
Bias/limitations
Permanent describes the list-addition category after CMS removed the provisional/permanent distinction. It does not make every telehealth flexibility permanent, guarantee payment in every setting, or establish coverage for every use case.
Applicability/generalizability
Applicable to decisions about the stated program, policy, standard, or development context; not evidence of clinical benefit beyond the cited scope.
Funding/conflicts
Funding or sponsorship is recorded only where the cited source and claim state it; otherwise it is not assessed in this record. No conflict-of-interest assessment is reported for this administrative or program-source record.
Replication or corroboration
The administrative or program claim is anchored to the cited authoritative source; independent clinical replication is not implied.
Decision use
Use as source-bounded context for Health-system leaders, Payers/employers, Clinicians, Policymakers; do not use as stand-alone evidence of safety, efficacy, coverage, endorsement, or scaled adoption.
Last reviewed / review due
Last reviewed 2026-09-03; review due 2026-10-03 or sooner if the cited source changes.

For this decision

Health-system leaders · Payers/employers · Clinicians · Policymakers

Primary sources

Related intelligence